ANCA endorsements for midterm elections

ANCA endorsements for midterm elections

Mitch McConnell and Harry Reid, the Republican and Democratic leaders of the Senate, have both been endorsed by ANCA, although Reid is not running in this cycle. Via TeaParty911.

Months of intensive voter registration efforts and grassroots campaigning contributed to significant Congressional victories for pro-Armenian American issues candidates during Tuesday’s mid-term elections, with over 95% of Armenian National Committee of America (ANCA) endorsed candidates being elected to office. Top winners included Bob Dold (R-IL), a former Republican Vice-Chairman of the Congressional Armenian Caucus, who won one of the most closely contested U.S. House races in the country.

“It’s always gratifying for the ANCA to empower Armenian American voters, especially during highly competitive election seasons like this, when our efforts contribute meaningfully to the victory of so many Congressional friends,” said Aram Hamparian, Executive Director of the ANCA. “While we’re certainly proud that our nation-wide electoral participation this season hit an all-time high-water mark, we’re already planning to top this unprecedented effort during the coming 2016 election cycle.”

Among other wins in competitive races were those by Congressman Michael Grimm (R-NY), the current Co-Chairman of the Armenian Caucus, who won by 13% in a high profile campaign; and David Valadao (R-CA), the co-author of the Armenian Genocide Truth and Justice Resolution, with a convincing 18 point victory in a race that was rated a toss-up earlier in the election cycle. Congressman Jim Costa’s (D-CA) race for reelection was still too close to call, as were those contested by three other candidates endorsed by the ANCA: Mike Honda (D-CA), Peter Aguilar (D-CA), and Raul Ruiz (D-CA).

Other high-profile victories by ANCA-endorsed candidates included those by David Brat (R-VA), who will take the Richmond U.S. House seat formerly held by Majority Leader Eric Cantor, and incoming Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY). U.S. Representative Gary Peters (D-MI), an ANCA-backed candidate, won a seat in the Senate.

Both Americans of Armenian heritage who serve in the U.S. Congress, Anna Eshoo (D-CA) and Jackie Speier (D-CA), won reelection, with a host of Armenian American state and local candidates following suit, including: Assemblymembers Adrin Nazarian and Katcho Achadjian, who won reelection to the California State Assembly; Assemblymember Katherine Kazarian who won reelection in Rhode Island; Scott Avedisian who was re-elected Mayor of Warwick, RI; and Richelle Noroyan, who secured a seat on the Santa Cruz, CA City Council.

An ANCA Election Day on-line poll found that 73% of respondents believe that Armenian American voters are willing to cross U.S. party lines to support pro-Armenian candidates, results that are consistent with feedback from previous election cycles.

Armenian Americans throughout the U.S. shared their participation in the civic process by posting “I Voted” photos on the ANCA’s Facebook page. Take a look at the collection here:

A complete listing of ANCA Endorsed Federal Candidates and their election results are provided below.


ANCA 2014 Congressional Endorsements and Election Results

** Ordered by State, then by Senate and House District
** Names are listed as follows: District Name (Party)

3 Raul Grijalva (D) — elected

1 Doug LaMalfa (R) — elected
6 Doris Matsui (D) — elected
10 Jeff Denham (R) — elected
11 Mark DeSaulnier (D) — elected
12 Nancy Pelosi (D) — elected
13 Barbara Lee (D) — elected
14 Jackie Speier (D) — elected
16 Jim Costa (D) — too close to call
17 Michael Honda (D) — too close to call
18 Anna Eshoo (D) — elected
19 Zoe Lofgren (D) — elected
21 David Valadao (R) — elected
22 Devin Nunes (R) — elected
23 Kevin McCarthy (R) — elected
25 Steve Knight (R) — elected
27 Judy Chu (D) — elected
28 Adam Schiff (D) — elected
29 Tony Cardenas (D) — elected
30 Brad Sherman (D) — elected
31 Pete Aguilar (D) — too close to call
32 Grace Napolitano (D) — elected
33 Ted Lieu (D) — elected
35 Norma Torres (D) — elected
36 Raul Ruiz (D) — too close to call
38 Linda Sanchez (D) — elected
39 Edward Royce (R) — elected
44 Janice Hahn (D) — elected
46 Loretta Sanchez (D) — elected
47 Alan Lowenthal (D) — elected
48 Dana Rohrabacher (R) — elected

2 Jared Polis (D) — elected
5 Douglas Lamborn (R) — elected
6 Andrew Romanoff (D) — defeated
7 Edwin Perlmutter (D) — elected

2 Joe Courtney (D) — elected

Sen. Chris Coons (D) — elected

11 Richard Nugent (R) — elected
12 Gus Bilirakis (R) — elected
22 Lois Frankel (D) — elected

Sen. Richard Durbin (D) — elected
3 Daniel Lipinski (D) — elected
7 Danny Davis (D) — elected
9 Janice Schakowsky (D) — elected
10 Robert Dold (R) — elected
18 Aaron Schock (R) — elected

Rep. Bruce Braley (D) for Senate — defeated

Sen. Mitch McConnell (R) — elected

3 John Sarbanes (D) — elected
5 Steny Hoyer (D) — elected
8 Christopher Van Hollen (D) — elected

Sen. Edward Markey (D) — elected
2 James McGovern (D) — elected
3 Niki Tsongas (D) — elected
4 Joe Kennedy (D) — elected
5 Katherine Clark (D) — elected
7 Michael Capuano (D) — elected
8 Stephen Lynch (D) — elected

Rep. Gary Peters (D) for Senate — elected
9 Sander Levin (D) — elected
11 David Trott (R) — elected
13 John Conyers (D) — elected

7 Collin Peterson (D) — elected

4 Vicky Hartzler (R) — elected

1 Jeff Fortenberry (R) — elected

1 Dina Titus (D) — elected

New Jersey
3 Tom MacArthur (R) — elected
4 Christopher Smith (R) — elected
5 Scott Garrett (R) — elected
6 Frank Pallone (D) — elected
8 Albio Sires (D) — elected

New Mexico
Sen. Tom Udall (D) — elected

New York
1 Tim Bishop (D) — defeated
3 Steve Israel (D) — elected
6 Grace Meng (D) — elected
11 Michael Grimm (R) — elected
12 Carolyn Maloney (D) — elected
14 Joseph Crowley (D) — elected
16 Eliot Engel (D) — elected
17 Nita Lowey (D) — elected
27 Chris Collins (R) — elected

2 Chaka Fattah (D) — elected
7 Patrick Meehan (R) — elected

Rhode Island
Sen. Jack Reed (D) — elected
1 David Cicilline (D) — elected
2 James Langevin (D) — elected

2 Ted Poe (R) — elected

7 Dave Brat (R) — elected